European Becquerel Prize for Outstanding Merits in Photovoltaics

To mark the 150th anniversary of Alexandre-Edmond Becquerel's discovery of the photovoltaic effect in 1839, the European Commission founded in 1989 the European Becquerel Prize for outstanding contributions to the development of Photovoltaic Solar Energy. It is awarded for the thirty-second time in 2024 on the occasion of the 41st European Photovoltaic Solar Energy Conference and Exhibition in Vienna. After a public nomination phase, the Prize winner was selected by the Becquerel Prize Committee.



Dr. Daniel Lincot



is the thirty-second Becquerel Prize winner. Dr Lincot receives the award for his life-long engagement in photovoltaic research, support for industrialisation, management of research, as well as dissemination and promotion of solar energy, in particular in France.

Throughout his active scientific career, Daniel Lincot has been at the forefront of research in photovoltaic and copper indium gallium diselenide (CIGS) thin film solar cells. He has supervised multiple national and international collaborations and has contributed to the creation of several PV research institutes or solar companies. His contributions to photovoltaics and chemistry have been widely recognised, leading to his election at the French Academy of Technology (2023) and to holding the Liliane Bettencourt Technological Innovation Chair at Collège de France (2021-2022). Daniel Lincot also developed strong links with citizen initiatives in society, connecting more and more renewable energy developments with social and environmental practical concerns. Through his life-long, always enthusiastic engagement in multiple forms, Daniel Lincot has been an impactful promoter of photovoltaic energy.

> Dr. Christian Thiel **European Commission Joint Research Centre** Head of Unit Energy Efficiency and Renewables

Prof. Christophe Ballif Chairman of the **Becquerel Prize Committee**