European Becquerel Prize for Outstanding Merits in Photovoltaics

To mark the 150th anniversary of Alexandre-Edmond Becquerel's discovery of the photovoltaic effect in 1839, the European Commission founded in 1989 the European Becquerel Prize for outstanding contributions to the development of Photovoltaic Solar Energy. It is awarded for the ninth time in 2001 on the occasion of the 17th European Photovoltaic Solar Energy Conference in Munich. The Prize winner was elected by prominent members of the World Photovoltaic Community and confirmed by the Becquerel Prize Board.

Prof. Dr. Viacheslav M. Andreev

is the 2001 Becquerel Prize winner. Prof. Andreev is in Europe one of the most important scientists in the field of Photovoltaics and Thermophotovoltaics. Together with the Nobel Prize winner Prof. Z.I. Alferov, he invented the heterostructure gallium arsenide solar cell, which was the first high efficiency realisation of cells of this material. His long experience in this field is proved by a large number of publications, books and patents. The technology he has developed in Russia has been utilised by the USSR industry to manufacture the spacecrafts' solar cells and in Western Europe for space and terrestrial applications. He has acquired an international notoriety and is appreciated worldwide in universities and companies.

With this Prize, the Commission expresses its recognition for Prof. Viatcheslav M. Andreev's contributions to the development of Photovoltaic Solar Energy, and his support to the European technology.

Signature

Loyola de Palacio del Valle Lersundi Vice President of the European Commission