## **European Becquerel Prize for Outstanding Merits in Photovoltaics**

To mark the 150th anniversary of Alexandre-Edmond Becquerel's discovery of the photovoltaic effect in 1839, the European Commission founded in 1989 the European Becquerel Prize for outstanding contributions to the development of Photovoltaic Solar Energy. It is awarded for the eighteenth time in 2010 on the occasion of the 25th European Photovoltaic Solar Energy Conference in Valencia. The Prize winner was selected by the Becquerel Prize Committee.

## **Prof. Hans-Werner Schock**

is the eighteenth Becquerel Prize winner. He receives the Becquerel Award for his pioneering work on Copper-Indium-Gallium-Diselenide (CIGS) thin film solar cells. This technology is one of the most promising thin film technologies with the highest efficiency of any thin film solar cell today.

Hans-Werner Schock worked successfully over many years towards understanding the extraordinary properties of chalcopyrite materials concerning defect tolerance, junction formation and grain boundary recombination. He took a leading role in transferring his results into production.

He also has great merits as coordinator of several European (EUROCIS) research projects on chalcopyrite based solar cells. These projects contributed substantially to the development of European CIGS companies. Recently record efficiencies for several chalcopyrite based systems were achieved in his laboratory.

With this Prize, the European Photovoltaic Community at its gathering in Valencia in 2010, Spain, expresses its recognition to Prof. Hans-Werner Schock for his extraordinary achievements in the field of PV Solar Electricity.

Signature

Signature

Dr. Wolfgang Palz WCRE - World Council for Renewable Energy Prof. Adolf Goetzberger Chairman of the Becquerel Prize Committee